I’ve been thinking alot about pro se divorces (divorces filed by parties who are representing themselves rather than hiring an attorney) lately. I have been thinking abot due to the unusually high number of pro se divorce being filed in our local courts, and in turn the high number of divorce that are being rejected by local judges because the paperwork just isn’t right. I understand why. The amount of additional work the State (Tennessee) is now requiring of lawyers by requiring Permanent Parenting Plans and Income Shares Worksheets has had the negative effect of driving up fees. Most law firms that I am aware of will not handle an uncontested divorce with children for less than $1,500.00, plus the court filing fee. Some charge $3,500.00 and up to $5,000.00. This puts many people in a position of being unable to hire counsel. I know, I know, it’s too easy to get divorced anyway so I shouldn’t feel sorry for these folks. Look, that’s a topic for a whole other discussion. The fact is that there are a large number of people trying to wade through the morass of divorce laws without any legal representation. Even worse, many of these good folks are turning to form generators, people who draft up boilerplate divorce forms and sell them at cheap prices without having an attorney stand behind the work or even review it. Check out legalzoom.com. Do they have local Tennessee counsel who insures that each and every document required by Tennessee Court is being provided? I doubt it. Thinking through all of this is when it hit me. There has to be a better way that costs can be kept down and people suffering through the divorce process can get professionally prepared divorce pleasdings that will be accepted by the local Courts. That’s when it hit me. Use the Internet to reduce the amount of time it takes to get the information needed to generate the necessary pleadings. The result is a mess. Don’t make this mistake. Call The Reeves Law Firm today.

